CODM Consulting

Lossless Bill Evans Trio – Explorations (Vinyl) (1961) FLAC music download


Mrz 18


Lossless Bill Evans Trio – Explorations (Vinyl) (1961) FLAC music download

Bill Evans Trio - Explorations (Vinyl) (1961) FLAC
Artist: Bill Evans Trio | Album: Explorations | Released: 1961 | Label: Riverside Records | Catalog #: RLP 351 | Genre: Jazz
When this album was recorded in February of 1961, it had been more than year since the Portrait in Jazz was issued, the disc that won the critics over. By the time of this issue, Evans had released four albums in six years, a pace unheard of during that time. Most musicians were issuing two, three, and even four records a year during the same era. Many speculate on Evans’ personal problems at the time, but the truth of the matter lies in the recordings themselves, and Explorations proves that the artist was worth waiting for no matter what else was going on out there. Evans, with Paul Motian and Scott LaFaro, was onto something as a trio, exploring the undersides of melodic and rhythmic constructions that had never been considered by most. For one thing, Evans resurrects a number of tunes that had been considered hopelessly played out, and literally reinvents them — “How Deep Is the Ocean” and “Sweet and Lovely.” His harmonic richness that extends the melodic and color palette of these numbers literally revived them from obscurity and brought them back into the canon. He also introduced “Haunted Heart” into the jazz repertoire, with a wonderfully impressionistic melodic structure, offered space, and depth by the understatement of Motian and extension by LaFaro’s canny use of intervals. Also noteworthy is Miles Davis’ “Nardis,” which Evans first played on a Cannonball Adderley set a couple of years before. The rhythmic workout by the Motian and LaFaro places Evans’ own playing in a new context, with shorter lines, chopping up the meter, and a series of arpeggios that open the ground for revelatory solo in counterpoint by LaFaro. Explorations is an extraordinary example of the reach and breadth of this trio at its peak.


01. Israel
02. Haunted Heart
03. Beautiful Love
04. Elsa
05. Nardis
06. How Deep Is The Ocean
07. I Wish I Knew
08. Sweet And Lovely

Recommended posts :

Lossless Demis Roussos – The Singles (2CD) (2003) FLAC (image+.cue) music download
Lossless The Hades Band – Dream For A Night (1998) APE (image+.cue+log) music download
Lossless 2Cellos – In2uition (2013) FLAC (tracks + cue) music download
Lossless Ariana Grande – Last Christmas (2013) FLAC (tracks) music download
Lossless Ruthless – They Rise (2015) FLAC (image + .cue) music download
Lossless VA – Pirate Station V (Mixed By DJ Gvozd) (2007) FLAC (tracks + .cue) music download
Lossless Tic Tac Toe – Best Hits (2001) FLAC music download
Lossless Lauge – Pusterum (2015) FLAC music download
Lossless Armin van Buuren – Anthems (Ultimate Singles Collected) (2014) FLAC (image + .cue) music download
Lossless Therion – Theli (1996) FLAC (image + .cue) music download

Click here for return to main category

Click here for return to homepage

  • trance

  • techno

  • synth-pop

  • soundtrack

  • smooth-jazz

  • rock

  • rap

  • r-b

  • psychedelic

  • pop-rock

  • pop

  • new-age

  • musicians

  • metal

  • melodic-metal

  • lounge

  • jazz-funk

  • jazz

  • index.php

  • house

  • hip-hop

  • heavy-metal

  • hard-rock

  • get.php

  • electronic

  • dubstep

  • drumbass

  • downtempo

  • disco

  • country

  • clubdance

  • classical

  • chillout

  • chanson

  • breakbeat

  • blues

  • ambient

  • alternative-rock